DW Delayed Reaction Post: Lucky Day
May. 5th, 2025 06:32 pmAND ANOTHER THING!
I didn't intend to keep thinking about DW "Lucky Day", but my brain does what it wants, not what I tell it to.
Conrad's scheme to discredit UNIT doesn't make any sense, does it? The fact that _he_ was able to fake an alien attack doesn't "prove" anything about whether _UNIT_ is faking them. If anything , the fact that they briefly fell for it is an argument in UNIT's favor.
(Full disclosure, I have seen a post or two somewhere discussing this. But it's _also_ something I noticed on first watch, that didn't make it into the Instant Reaction because I needed to chew on it a little first.)
I didn't intend to keep thinking about DW "Lucky Day", but my brain does what it wants, not what I tell it to.
Conrad's scheme to discredit UNIT doesn't make any sense, does it? The fact that _he_ was able to fake an alien attack doesn't "prove" anything about whether _UNIT_ is faking them. If anything , the fact that they briefly fell for it is an argument in UNIT's favor.
(Full disclosure, I have seen a post or two somewhere discussing this. But it's _also_ something I noticed on first watch, that didn't make it into the Instant Reaction because I needed to chew on it a little first.)
no subject
Date: 2025-05-06 06:26 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2025-05-06 11:30 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2025-05-06 04:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2025-05-06 04:36 pm (UTC)I scrolled through the Dr Who tag on Tumblr and yeah, it's wild the range of responses. Personally then I think they should never have let this guy write anything else for Doctor Who after Kerblam! If you can write something which MAY have been intended as a commentary on how machines are taking all the jobs and coming out pro-Amazon, maybe you should not be allowed near anything more deep than a soap opera. This one was the exact same muddled mess of messaging (although considerably less offensive).
People need to stop Being Wrong On The Internet!
Obligatory link.